Community drama festival EK RepFest 2018 comes to a close

The curtain comes down on the Rep’s 2018 one-act play competition.

EK RepFest 2018 Winners

East Kilbride Rep Theatre Club’s festival of one-act plays, EK RepFest, has come to an end for another year, and, as has been the case in previous years, the quality of performances on offer was of the highest standard.  The participating groups ensured each night’s audience went home thoroughly entertained.

As always, the festival was host to a great selection of talented groups, which included regular competitors Fintry Amateur Dramatic Society, Rutherglen Rep, and Carluke’s Kirkton Players, as well as the next generation of actors from Dunlop Youth Players.

This year’s adjudicator, Jim Gibson, entertained and educated the audience with his informative feedback, and had the very difficult job of choosing the winners.  But choose he did, and East Kilbride Rep is proud to announce the 2018 winners:

The Betty McAuley Trophy for Best Staging
Fintry Amateur Dramatic Society
Eight O’Clock

The East Kilbride Rep Theatre Club Trophy for Best Actress
Nancy McPherson, Stewarton Drama Club,
Maisie in
A Galway Girl

The Alf Davidson Trophy for Best Actor
Jack Doyle, Fintry Amateur Dramatic Society,
The Prisoner in
Eight O’Clock

The Whitemoss Trophy for 3rd Place
Stewarton Drama Club
A Galway Girl

The East Kilbride Arts Council Trophy for 2nd Place
Kirkton Players
Alan and Jean’s Incredible Journey

The John McNicol Trophy for 1st Place
Fintry Amateur Dramatic Society
Eight O’Clock

Congratulations to all the winners and thank you to all the groups who took part.

Next year’s EK RepFest will take place the week beginning Monday 6th of May 2019.  For information regarding registering your interest in participating, keep an eye on our website and social media pages.