EK RepFest 2019

Applications for RepFest 2019 (One Act Play Competition) are now open. Closing date March 27th 2019.

For further details contact repfest@ek-rep.org.uk


Tuesday 8th – Saturday 12th May, 2018.  7.30pm.
The Village Theatre, East Kilbride

EK RepFest 2018 Winners

EK RepFest 2018 Running Order

Tuesday 8th May

Tryst Theatre, Falkirk
a drama by Kenneth N Ross

Dunlop Players
‘John’s Mother’
a comedy by Helen Boyce

Dunlop Youth Players
‘Little Box of Oblivion’
a comedy by Stephen Bean

Wednesday 9th May

Kirkton Players, Carluke
‘Alan and Jean’s Incredible Journey’
a drama by Ian Kershaw

Kirkton Players, Carluke
‘Blood on Canvas’
a drama by Richard James

Thursday 10th May

Rutherglen Repertory Theatre
‘The Crass Menagerie’
a comedy by Isabella Rae

Fintry Amateur Dramatic Society
‘Eight O’Clock’
a drama by Reginald Berkeley

Friday 11th May

Killin Drama Club
‘Happy Jack’
a comedy by John Godber

Stewarton Drama Group
‘Small Box Psychosis’
a comedy/drama by Barry McKinley

Saturday 12th May

Rutherglen Repertory Theatre
‘Funeral for a Fiend’
a comedy by Gerry McCartan

Stewarton Drama Group
‘A Galway Girl’
a drama by Geraldine Aron

Adjudicator: Jim Gibson

Headshot of Jim GibsonJim has worked in Ayrshire’s drama community for over 40 years, playing and directing with several clubs in one-act plays to full-length productions and musicals.

He has been adjudicating for almost 25 years, travelling across Scotland to all points of the compass, working on SCDA full-length and one-act play festivals, SWI and school speech festivals.

Jim retired early from his post as Head Teacher of a primary school in Kilwinning, Ayrshire, after working for almost 40 years in various primary schools across Ayrshire.  He has always had a keen interest in schools’ and youth Speech and Drama, taking pupils to many school and youth festivals in the West of Scotland.

Previous engagements include Ayrshire District SCDA, Skye District SCDA, Caithness District SCDA, Highland SCDA Division Youth and Stewartry District SCDA.

Jim is a long time friend of the festival, entering plays, gaining awards (in the last century!) and adjudicating in 2002 – 2004, 2013 and 2014.

He is delighted to return to the Village Theatre and to adjudicate EK RepFest 2018.


Best Staging
Fintry Amateur Dramatic Society
‘Eight O’Clock’

Best Actress
Nancy McPherson
Stewarton Drama Group
Maisie in ‘A Galway Girl’

Best Actor
Jack Doyle
Fintry Amateur Dramatic Society
The Prisoner in ‘Eight O’Clock’

3rd Place
Stewarton Drama Group
‘A Galway Girl’

2nd Place
Kirkton Players, Carluke
‘Alan and Jean’s Incredible Journey’

1st Place
Fintry Amateur Dramatic Society
‘Eight O’Clock’